be random
what is now
when is then
where is email
who i am
how it is
why it is
leave a note?
share me, share you
make me smile
thank you

other journals
(of course I should be sleeping)
(what's life got to do with it?)

about me
(too much to know at once)
friend?
(tic tic tic, toc)

BE MY GUEST (BOOK)

<< MISSING �SOMETHING? >>
the bottom line
who can
when i had the time
the first of december (has another song)
what i do





RINGS 'n THINGS

< ? me # >
< ? harrychapin # >
< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >
< ? Poetic Voices # >
< ? The Write Club # >
< ? Nights Awake # >
< ? Fluid # >
< ? Adopted # >
< ? Childlike # >
< ? Poets-Muse # >
< ? Five Hundred # >
< ? As You Wish # >
temporary place holder
()))CRAYON-BOX)))>
published


blogmad!
varb?

�2015 CANDOR COMMUNICATIONS
IF YOU WANT TO USE THE WORDS
FOR ANY REASON
TALK TO ME

MONOLOG

learning about cookies and cake and cats

ok, so I've been deleting cookies from this new laptop... I've discovered that some cookies are good cookies that fill in stuff to save me time and clear valuable memory space in my overcrowded brain... on the other hand, I've learned that some cookies appear to call up pop-ups and give out more information to places that do not have the integrity to identify their invasion of my privacy, probably because it is at least borderline illegal, if not in the letter of the law, then in the intent... DLand pops some cookies into the cookie folder, but the files are not identified DLand until after you open them... for instance, edit.txt is the file that lets the DLand server know how to resized my add-entry box to my preference... I had to reset that after deleting all my cookies...

I also learned that if you click on the delete cookies button from the internet options on this laptop (nothing to do with any site) then the cookies are deleted not only from temporary internet folders, but also from the cookie folder, so the three cookies I left in the cookie folder cuz they were good cookies disappeared and I have to re-enter stuff at a few sites which is a pain since I don't remember passwords all the time and do not keep them on the laptop due to some ancient rule of online paranoia that I still adhere to, mostly...

I am trying to discover just which of the add-ons that I added on to this site is responsible for the pop-ups that have been invading my diary space recently... it is annoying and lets me know that an invasion of privacy has occurred and another rule of online paranoia creates a pop-up in my brain that demands to know what else have they told my computer to do without my knowledge or permission?... did I mention it demanded boldly?... and I do not want to hear the nonsense that cookies are harmless and non-invasive because I sure did not tell my computer to assault my site and you dear readers with pop-up ads for crap I do not want popping up on my site... needless to say, one or more of the add-ons, the Tagboard or the counters will be disappearing soon...

hopefully it is not DLand doing it... Andrew says not, but he is an internet entrepreneur and I've paid other site owners for use of their sites (Tagboard, for instance) that swear they do not invade or assault private computer space with cookies or pop ups other than the cookies that remember settings I wish to be remembered... of course the question of whether cookie folders and temporary interenet folders or even browsers and telephone lines connected to the net are actually private space is an ethical dilemma still years away from getting ironed out by Supreme Court justices (and surely it will take that, eventually)...

anyway, I apologize to you, dear readers, especially frequent visitors who are experiencing pop ups... I would very much appreciate any information about frequency of pop-ups or anything you did prior to the pop-ups, like did you click on several pages (how many?) before the pop-up or did you leave this site open for a period of time (how long?) or did you refresh once or more than once? (how many times?) or did you leave a tag-board message just before the pop-up or during the session... and do you have a tag-board on your own DLand site or do you have a DLand site or did you get pop-ups at another site (which site?) just before coming to this site and what was the pop-up about here or there or both (hmmmm, is this the makings of my first survey?... oy vey, survey... I'd rather they be more fun when I finally decide to create one, but we'll see just how motivated I get to investigate this)...

do you ever look at the cookies on your computer?

well, that, and the fact that the cats might have been trying to kill me this morning is what is new (they seemed to surround my head in fur, one on either side and one on top, so much so that I did not hear the garbage truck when it drove up so I missed taking out the can so there's half a can of bagged used kitty litter left for next week, but it's the cats, they did this)... actually, I am still giving them the benefit of doubt and accepting their attempts to enter my head overnight and also cause me to nearly trip and scream "I've fallen and can't get up" many times a day as just signs of affection... cat affection can be dangerous...

oh, if you are wondering about the cake... that's the music playing at the moment as I explore my friends CD collection... I am learning I like the sound of Cake almost as much as I like eating it... how was your day?...

candora

previous - - - - - - - - next - - - - - - - - comment? - - - - - - - -

NOTE: Due to excessive comment SPAM, comments have been turned off... ironically, this month is the renewal for supergold membership and the comments feature... bad timing... you know how much I love feedback, so maybe there's be comments again one of these days... until then, please leave a note... thanks J




I love you all for coming... for reading all these words
for every click feels like more love (I know that sounds absurd)
if I could only tell you... one thing more tonight
I'd say
I wish you could come home with me and be my friends for life


ALL WORDS (C) 2015 CANDOR COMMUNICATIONS