be random
what is now
when is then
where is email
who i am
how it is
why it is
leave a note?
share me, share you
make me smile
thank you

other journals
(of course I should be sleeping)
(what's life got to do with it?)

about me
(too much to know at once)
friend?
(tic tic tic, toc)

BE MY GUEST (BOOK)

<< MISSING �SOMETHING? >>
the bottom line
who can
when i had the time
the first of december (has another song)
what i do





RINGS 'n THINGS

< ? me # >
< ? harrychapin # >
< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >
< ? Poetic Voices # >
< ? The Write Club # >
< ? Nights Awake # >
< ? Fluid # >
< ? Adopted # >
< ? Childlike # >
< ? Poets-Muse # >
< ? Five Hundred # >
< ? As You Wish # >
temporary place holder
()))CRAYON-BOX)))>
published


blogmad!
varb?

�2015 CANDOR COMMUNICATIONS
IF YOU WANT TO USE THE WORDS
FOR ANY REASON
TALK TO ME

MONOLOG

Diaryland Survey

I don't know where this came from originally (neither do I). I swiped it from CrankyDragon (who swiped it from Paper-bag, who is no longer with us as searching diaryland for Paper-bag takes you to the main Dland page which makes one think that the Paper-bag diary may have drifted off to the great diaryland in the sky, or somebody accidentally hit the delete key, anyway, it seemed interesting. It's quite long, but here goes anyway (yes, I couldn't even write my own intro... sometimes I am such a lazy ditz).


Diaryland Survey



1. What is your name?
�����which name, what name, who wants to know?... oh wait, I chose to find and swipe and cut and paste and edit and fill out this diaryland survey, didn't I?... shouldn't be so paranoid, shouldn't I?... wouldn't be if I wasn't stalked by psychotic fans, wouldn't I?... well, my name begins with a letter and ends with a letter and there are a series of other letters in between and the letters have changed around a few times since this body was born... and there are a few spaces in there too... you can start tring to figure out the answer to this question here or you can read on for clues if you like... what, you thought this was going to be easy?... well, now you know...


�����in all seriousness, I mock paranoia because somewhere inside we all have fears and if I mock my fears they dance and amuse me by trying to get me to take them seriously... it's not that I am fearless, I simply enjoy my fears... so people sometimes tell me I appear fearless to them cuz they don't enjoy their fears... they perceive my enjoyment of my fears as my not having any... misperception... I have fears... I just play with them...

in this life, I hide nothing and welcome anyone to ask anything of me... my answer will usually be playfully irreverent and testing of the seriousness of the inquiry because I don't want to waste my time sharing with someone who does not really want to care about me... and online, there are plenty of people who are just looking for meaningless quarrels, weird head games, or credit card numbers... with a full name and birthdate, you could know enough about me to tap into my wallet... if I could afford that, I might not mind... I've given away a lot in this life... in fact, a couple of times I gave away (or lost, depending upon perspective) everything... I retired from a life of leisure as an independently wealthy party animal a few years ago and since then have returned to working too many hours for not enough money having to be selective in fulfilling my material wants, so leave my money and identity alone, ok?...

on the other hand, you can, if you want to love me or hire me (I can do many, many things very well and I learn and adapt very quickly), find my resume with address and telephone number online in many places... you can also find my personal identity information in many web directories... and also in several alumni sites... so if you really care to know, you'll know... and if you are just searching the web for names and numbers for harmful purposes, well, I won't make that easy for you here... and now, on with the survey (not every answer is this long and winding... only some of them)...

2. Your age?
�����again you astound me with your literary attack on my virtual anonymity... here, you can begin to know the answer to this and other typically shallow questions... might even see a pic, since I know you are dying to find out what madness actually looks like... call it a New Years present or something... it's even more weird if you start before midnight, sober, even...

3. What is your Dland name?
�����candora

�����gee, that was easy

�����kinda one of the duh! questions, huh?

4. Why did you choose it?
�����cuz candor was already taken (and he may regret it yet... wink, nudge, nod... hey, whatcha doing with that bat?)... he's act2ally a rather interesting fellow with an odd sense of humor that is being tested (with a friendly smile) even now as you read this... and he needs dates, so somebody go and date him...

5. How long have you been a member?
�����what is time?...

6. How did you find out about Diaryland?
�����a long long time ago I started reading and realized I loved it... about the same time I started writing and realized I loved that even more... and then, somewhere along the way, I discovered I could combined these two loves by corresponding... a diary is the ultimate correspondence with the universe, and there's nothing bigger than that... unless, of course, you consider the possibility that there are multiverses and dimensional infinities, but we digress... I fell in love with her who introduced me to her who introduced me to diaryland...

7. Good experiences on Diaryland?
�����almost all of them

�����wow, a short answer... didn't see that coming, didn't ya?

8. Bad experiences on Diaryland?
�����losing some words (and the golden moments of profound revelation they expressed) in server glitches on occasion... shallow critics who seem to think I actually care about something other than content and want to judge me based on their narrow view of things... waking up one day and clicking on a favorite and finding it gone without a forwarding address... and sometimes I miss not being here from the start (how can you miss what you never had?... ummmm, there's a profound thought in there)...

9. What's the best thing about Dland?
�����That it exists.

�����that was the previous answer to this question and I shall let it stand as mine too... so there!... thanks CrankyDragon... and I apologize for the exclamation point...

from now on CrankyDragon will be known as CD for the purpose of this surve since I like enough of her answers to call them mine too... or at least I have something to say about them (me, something to say?... shockinaw!)...

10. Worst thing?

�����CD: That stupid navigation bar at the bottom of the screen that I have to keep clicking "remove."

�����you mean the one I leave down there at the moment (someday it may disappear from my diary and this reference will be moot)... the inability to remove it, though, that seems to have been cleared up...

�����the worst thing now, for me, is that there are not enough hours in the day to write as much as I want to write... or read as much as I want to read... but I guess that's not diarylands fault, huh?... well somthing must be...

�����ok, I've got one... no spellchecker... diaryland should have an automatic editor that corrects spelling, grammar, typos, design flaws, and shallow, meaningless content... yes, with the click of the done! button each entry should be a gem worthy of a Pulitzer Prize for Journaling (or Diarying)... that's the worst thing about Diaryland, that it doesn't do that (get to work, Andrew!)...

maybe the worst thing is being taken off somebody's favorites list...

11. Have you gotten any friends through Dland?
�����I don't know, they don't respond...

�����ok, seriously, yes, I have met a few new friends through Dland... and I look forward to many more and actually meeting them and looking into their eyes and seeing the mind behind the words... everyone should check out meetup.com?... it's amazing to actually meet someone you've been reading from afar... ok, it's amazing some times...

12. How many Diaryland accounts you have?
�����just one so far*, but give me time... I have three livejournal accounts and several journals on my website and a few others and... wait a minute, I'm telling, aren't I?... well, let's keep this between you and me cuz we wouldn't want anyone to think I was some weird writing-addict who wishes there was more hours in the day so more writing could get done, would we?... well, would we?...

afterthought: make that 3, I pay for 2 so far cuz I am not using the other two yet... any more information would be telling...

13. Do you have a story/zine/article diary in addition to your "normal" diary?
�����ummmm, I don't think I have a normal diary... do you know where could I get one?...

�����somewhere... there's a place for us, somewhere, a place for us...

13. What kind of Diaries do you like to read?
�����ones that are pretty and feel like candy to my eyes (sarcasm, ya know?... I do love beautiful design and all sorts of things catch my eye, but you asked which I like to read and I read words)... so... I like to read diaries with words... profound words... silly words... words from the heart... I treasure diaries that bleed soul... I adore diaries that tickle my child inside and inspire laughter from the peanut gallery in my head... I revere diaries that let you know in no uncertain terms that the writer ripped every piece of their heart out and laid it naked for you to feel with your eyes... I love diaries that seduce me to fall in love with the writer... I jealously covet and cheer diaries that say things I wish I said better than I could ever say them, or at least that strive to... I stand and applaud diaries with a social conscious that maintain a sense of humor... I most of all love diaries that play with me... and diaries of friends, I am at home in a diary of a friend...

"Reading is like thinking with someone else's mind" ~ Arthur Schopenhauer

14. What kind of Diaries don't you like to read?
�����I grow tired quickly of diaries obviously written by mini-minds and micro-brains... I squirm out of my chair when I stumble into judgemental diaries... I have little tolerance for diaries that insult and taunt and mock and try to hurt others with words (and mean it... for sarcasm and humorous cynicism I love, but intentional meanness deserves all the puke I can come up with)... I do not enjoy diaries that are self-defeating and part of the problem, poor-me diaries that perpetuate an offline real world problem... I pity the writers of diaries that are fake cries for attention from people afraid to be real in their lives...

15. Your favorite Diaries?
�����I've just begun to add diaries to my profile, look there and more will be added as I pull myself away from writing to read more and edit my profile...

16. Do you use Diaryland layout defaults, or custom layout?
�����I just type in some HTML code and see what happens...

17. If you use a custom-made layout, who made it for you?
�����all this emphasis on layout has me wondering if maybe I should take layout more seriously... maybe I will when the river of words slows a bit... I've been saying that about editing my words for years, so it may take a while...

18. If you made your layout by yourself, or if you got a chance to wish for a layout theme when you requested for one, what influenced you, why did you choose to go with that particular theme or thing?
�����I didn't think much about it (fodder for the layout critics who gleefully exclaim in multi-part choral harmony, "it shows!"... I love making my critics happy)...

19. Do you use the mail forwarding Diaryland offers for members?
�����yes, isn't it wonderful?

20. What kind of things do you write about in your diary?
�����CD: Whatever. Sometimes the entries are good and deep, sometimes they're just fluff. Either way, it's helpful in a cleaning house sort of way.

�����again I agree with the Dragon, so I agree... it's not that I disagreed much in other questions... I just had more to say... I don't often think about what I write in my diary (is that critic-chorus rumbling again?), it just happens...

21. How often do you update?
�����whenever (kind of goes with "whatever" from the previous question/answer)... if I didn't have so many other places I write in daily, I'd probably update a few dozen times a day... at least... lucky you, huh?

22. Do you get comments often?
�����CD: From time to time. Not often enough...

�����that's what she said and I'm sticking to it... maybe someday I'll be discovered and have more interaction here... and maybe someday scientists will actually discover a way to increase the number of hours in a day without using up life time... I love comments, comment me...

23. When people comment, do they comment the content or the layout?
�����CD: Usually the content.

�����me too (Cranky is doing good in answering for me... finally got the hang of it I guess)... critics who focus on layout generally get discouraged by my cheerful acceptance of their criticism as a compliment... see, the big secret is that my diary is as I want it to be, if it wasn't I'd change it... shhhh, don't tell them...

24. When people comment, do they use the Analyzer, Guestbook, e-mail or other commenting thing?
�����what's an Analyzer?... some defunct past feature or some feature I haven't found? (hey, I'm a supergold member, I want everything!)... a few have found their way to my guestbook, a few more to notes, and a couple of comments... at least one comment... I'm not sure if all the comments appear on one page or if each page has a comments page... when I go to a comments page it doesn't seem to have a link back to a diary page... I'm still learning, right?... any teachers want to take on an irrassafrassable in dire need of a spellchecker at the moment, please do...

25. Do you have a NotifyList?
�����no... I have several hundred groups though... join one?... or many, for that matter...

26. Do you have an account from Signmyguestbook.com?
�����yes...

27. Do you have a page at Pitas?
�����I think I set one up a long long time ago... might have done the same here at diaryland... I recently found a live journal account I set up in 2000 and forgot all about until this month... suddenly, another place to ramble... I will check out Pitas (and a dozen other sites) when I have more time...

28. Do you have a personal website somewhere, in addition to your diary?
�����yes... it never ends, in fact... of course that could just be an illusion...

29. If so -- is your diary (or diaries) linked from it?
�����yes, often...

30. Have you met any weirdos during your stay at Dland?
�����obviously, being one...

31. What kind of extra stuff do you have on your diary (e.g polls, poems, stories, art...)?
�����eventually there will be all sorts of links... I rhyme from time to time... photos may present themselves eventually... I've answered some surveys, but haven't created one yet... when I think of a good poll, I'll let you know... I have a ring, will probably have more... I have a dialog box for instant messaging... anything I left out?...

32. Do you like to see extra things on people's diaries, or do you think the written content of the diary itself is more important?
�����words are why I am here... I love images and creative design, but only if it emphasizes the words... for me, design is the background, the stage... words are the costumes and content, the meaning inside the author, make up the actors and reason for being here...

33. Do you have accounts on other diary hivesites such as LiveJournal etc.?
�����yes... several... I only pay for one at LJ (that I haven't even used at this point cuz I have no time to set up the project it was meant to be) and this one at Dland... for overall service and ease of use, I prefer Diaryland...

34. Have you registered your diary to contests like "top 100 diaries" or such?
�����no... most review sites and link sites on the web want eye candy more than content and we already know I am here for words... besides, I am not into competition... I am into mutual love and understanding and nurturing and support and virtual correspondence, yeah, that's the ticket...

35. What is more important: writing to your diary or getting hits, comments or becoming well-known on Dland or well-known as a diary writer?
�����CD wrote: I really want to be admired, respected, etc. That's why I made my Please Like Me ring. I'm not terribly proud of that desire, but I accept it as part of myself. I try to focus more on my writing.

�����wow, this is the first I am hearing about this ring... I wonder if it still exists (this survey was from a 2001 entry in CD's diary)... so move over Sally Fields... and I hope she accepts me in that ring (who's laughing, I'm serious)...

36. Do you know your average hit per day rate at the moment?
�����only 6... wait... it moved up to seven cuz I had 183 hits the day before yesterday... am I being noticed?... should I hunker down or beam?... I'm still a baby diary here at diaryland... I don't advertise, have no banners, just pick up fly-by visitors and some friends through leaving a comment or note at their diary... I am coming to adore a few of you (wanna know who?)...

afterthought: in the two months since first answering this survey, the number of hits per day has jumped to 20... wow, 20 people can be a small party...

37. How many people are linking to your diary from their profiles at this moment?
�����just a few... but before I eat some worms I'm gonna remain hopeful and stay positive and keep my poor-me crap over at LJ (is Andrew smiling?)...

afterthought: at the moment: 11 (together, we make a jury... or... I need one more to have a last supper?)...

38. Do you know why they link to you?
�����one fell in love with me, then disppeared... then another fell in love with me, and she disappeared too... this seems to be a pattern I can not explain... I have no idea why anyone would want to link to me after this answer, but I am open to suggestion... maybe it's something about the wisdom of not wanting to be a member of any club that would want you as a member... yes, I love Groucho too...

�����more seriously, I hope people love words as much as I do and find me adorable, irresistible, and addictive... but I'd happily settle for some pity-links from well respected diarists... I mean, I don't want to have to cut off my other ear, ya know?... most of all, after expressing myself, I hope to please my readers and find some friends on and offline...

39. Are you a Diaryland Gold Member and if you aren't, would you like to be one?
�����SuperGold! (did you hear the fan fare and applause?... what?... you didn't see the flashing applause sign?... no music?... no trumpets?... Andrew, get to work)...

40. If you are a Gmember, why did you sign up for it? And if you aren't but would like to, why?
�����I should probably say I wanted banner hits, but since I've been too lazy to create a banner I really signed up so I could modify my design (what?... I paid for design?... how hypocritical of me... I'll have to have a long talk with myself one of these days... I mean outside of my diary... ok, I admit it, I did want some control)... also, I really do (and this is as serious as a brick to the temple) believe in sharing like this and bless Andrew for putting the idea into tangible form... the least I can do is pay the dues to support an idea I believe in...

41. Why did you originally sign up for your diary account, has the reason changed during your stay at Dland?
�����I think I just answered this... and in my first entry and first few entries I answer it... I believe in communication, I love communicating through the written world... and in a John Lennonesque kind of way, I want to believe the internet will save humankind from (what is the word for genocide when a species does it to itself?... infanticide?... species-suicide?) extinction or worse fates... yes, I signed up at Diaryland to save the world, didn't everyone?...

42. If you can track down referring urls, what is the most common search that generates your site in the results?
�����dunno... I don't check referrals daily and the stats only go back 24 hours... I think the last search that brought someone to this diary was homemade barometers... go figure, it was one of my more rambling entries...

afterthoughts: more recently (I update these answers from time to time): hubrus, why am I alone, poemtry, diaryland layout, City of Angels, Beatles...

43. Have you ever been quoted or submitted material to quoted?
�����I have published small magazines in the past and have been published in small periodicals, but that was another life and any records of that time are hermetically sealed in a storage facility in Rosewell, New Mexico along with the craft I came in on... or was that a mile from where the Great Niagara forms out of Lake Ontario... slowly I turn, step by sted, inch by inch... anyway, there was no proof of any UFO abduction, or drop off, for that matter, so the answer remains, dunno...

44. Have you ever submitted and/or been published at oddgoogle?
�����never heard of it until now... time for another search... ... ... I like it already... like quotes, but lowbrow... ok, I'll bookmark and read later... when time permits... thanks...

45. What makes you link to other diaries?
�����CD: They write well, they intrigue me, they share a common interest....

�����ditto... also, I fall in love at the drop of a hat (or assorted odd clothing) and words do it to me better than anything that doesn't have actual blood running through it... I adore writers who inspire me or move me to laughter or tears or deep thought... does Jack have a diaryland site?...

46. Diaryland ad banners, good or bad?
�����good, I guess... some are amazingly creative and clever and amusing... some, no matter how good they are, repeatedly lead to emptiness... still, someday, I'll probably have one of my own...

47. Diaryrings for Gmembers only, good or bad?
�����all good... anything that connects is good...

48. Diaryrings, good or bad?
�����ditto last answer...

49. Old Analyzer vs. new Analyzer, good or bad?
�����again with the Analyzer... I've got to wander around more and see if this actually exists...

50. Do you wish to evolve as a writer through or using your diary, or do you just write?
�����how can one alive help but evolve?...

51. Do you ever plan what to write, or is it all spontaneous?
�����this question sounds familiar... ideas sometimes come before I sit down to write, but I have never outlined anything... even when I was self-publishing and editing I just poured it all out and/or threw in whatever was submitted and stirred gently and then started editing... content first, form is built around it...

52. Has writing a diary helped you in any way, or have you had negative results?
�����CD: It's mental housecleaning. It's a wonderful thing.

�����yes, it is...

53. Has your diary ever been found by someone you've written about?
�����I've met most of the local offline friends I have online, though not through diaryland or journaling... I've met some local journalers, but so far don't socialize with any... I am hoping that the diaryland @ meetup site and others at meetup connect me with more local friends cuz I'd like to find more... I don't hide the fact that I ramble on endlessly on the web about anything and everything and links are in emails from time to time and everything is connected to my webpages, so people I know in offline life are bound to read me eventually, especially if they want to...

54. Have you ever shown your diary to people you've written about and if so, what did they think?
�����I don't show it, I mention my writings in conversation, especially when I am choosing writing over going out on a given night... a few friends say they are amazed, a few people applaud from afar on a regular basis... bless them, for they keep me grounded and believing in the power of the word... other people give silent feedback...

55. Have you written a cast, terms list, or anything similar on your diary for readers to catch the meaning of words and names in your diary?
�����I don't actually think I need one since my diary is less about my everyday life and activities as it is my thoughts and feelings and imaginings about anything and everything... there's no road map... maybe I need more direction... discipline... a plot... sure, bury me...

�����terms list?... like a glossary?... I suppose I should consider this since I am making up words (not always intentionally) all the time...

56. How do you review your own entries -- what kind of entries are good ones, what bad?
�����I don't review... someday, if time permits, I might... though many are left out of the list, I do have some favorites... for now I'd rather be writing...

57. Have you ever deleted your own entries and if you have, was there a particular reason?
�����I was testing to see if putting a past date in would list the entry as an older entry, but it didn't so I deleted it (it was one of my first ten entries and still there as my first ten entries were in the weblog format, all on one page in reverse chronological order... I tried separating them into ten individual entries but they'd appear as if they were recent entries instead of the first ten, so I left that page as my first entry and tried to explain, at the top of the page, that the entries actually start at the bottom of the page... otherwise, no deleting... that's kind of like giving birth and not liking the baby, so just killing it... if I don't like an entry, I leave it on the web... somebody might adopt it someday... in fact, there might be a lot more for me to learn from entries I initially did not like than I am ready to learn at the moment... pow, huh?...

58. Why did you choose to write a diary online, instead of keeping a locked book under your pillow, so to speak?
�����cuz I don't have a pillow?... cuz I don't like lumpy things under my head when I sleep?... cuz I write to share, not just to express myself and understand stuff... yeah, that's it (haven't you heard?)...

59. Do you think there's a big difference between online and offline diaries and if so, what do you think these differences are?
�����knowing there is an audience obviously has some influence on the writing... we effect everything, even through silent and distant observation... but I have been writing to the universe since the beginning of my writing... I write to express myself, not just to myself, but to anyone who might care to know me... I also tend to repeat myself even without the help of similar questions...

60. Any final comments, thoughts, words of wisdom or random babble about Dland, other diary hive sites, diary-writing online or in general?
�����CD: We are the music makers, and the dreamers of the dreams.

�����see why I like her?... it's a small world after all?... we are the world?... imagine all the people, sharing all the world?... there are a million reasons to be here... but maybe the best for me is, when I am here, I know... I'm not the only one...

candora

crankydragon words ummm errroh

previous - - - - - - - - next - - - - - - - - comment? - - - - - - - -

NOTE: Due to excessive comment SPAM, comments have been turned off... ironically, this month is the renewal for supergold membership and the comments feature... bad timing... you know how much I love feedback, so maybe there's be comments again one of these days... until then, please leave a note... thanks J




I love you all for coming... for reading all these words
for every click feels like more love (I know that sounds absurd)
if I could only tell you... one thing more tonight
I'd say
I wish you could come home with me and be my friends for life


ALL WORDS (C) 2015 CANDOR COMMUNICATIONS