be random
what is now
when is then
where is email
who i am
how it is
why it is
leave a note?
share me, share you
make me smile
thank you

other journals
(of course I should be sleeping)
(what's life got to do with it?)

about me
(too much to know at once)
friend?
(tic tic tic, toc)

BE MY GUEST (BOOK)

<< MISSING �SOMETHING? >>
the bottom line
who can
when i had the time
the first of december (has another song)
what i do





RINGS 'n THINGS

< ? me # >
< ? harrychapin # >
< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >
< ? Poetic Voices # >
< ? The Write Club # >
< ? Nights Awake # >
< ? Fluid # >
< ? Adopted # >
< ? Childlike # >
< ? Poets-Muse # >
< ? Five Hundred # >
< ? As You Wish # >
temporary place holder
()))CRAYON-BOX)))>
published


blogmad!
varb?

�2015 CANDOR COMMUNICATIONS
IF YOU WANT TO USE THE WORDS
FOR ANY REASON
TALK TO ME

MONOLOG

A Love Story (and a tribute to Harry Chapin)

of course I should be sleeping
cuz I haven't slept in days
but these words aren't meant for keeping
not when the old music plays

so of course I should be singing
and not only to myself
Mr. Tanner is aware now
life is not up on the shelf

it was raining hard in Frisco...

she was barely fifteen when I saw her face
and the lights went out all over the place
like some old movie I don't remember
all I could see was my hand and her
and I reached out with the best I had
told her I never knew I was sad
until I saw her and realized
everything before was made of lies
until I met her I must have been depressed
for she redefined my happiness
and nothing was ever the same
I don't even have to speak her name

you know
like a bolt out of the blue
you know
you've seen the movie too

I was just old enough to start to shave
when the night opened and suddenly gave
my eyes the precious image of
the eyes that told me how to love

my hand in yours
my hand is yours
your wish command
please take my hand

my arms around
this dream I found
your arms around
I'm heaven bound

love love love
yeah


well something happened
it always does
growing up
doesn't need a cause
parents cooled us down
or so it appeared
went away to school
life, it was nightmared
but inside the fires still burns
after all these years

it was raining hard in Toronto...

she was soaking wet when I saw her face
an angel fallen in a pool of grace
and one look said nothing can replace
the first dream that a heart takes chase
the sun went black and the stars grew dim
only thing was wrong, she was holding him
from across the yard, like an evil dance
only her eyes said we still had a chance
but I'm not the kind who breaks up someone else
so I left my heart up there on the shelf
and I blew a kiss through the tear in my eye
watching my first love with her lucky guy

you know
like a bolt out of the blue
you know
you've seen the movie too

my hand to yours
my hand is yours
waving adeiu
best luck to you

his arms around
this dream I found
your arms around
I'm underground

love love love
yeah


well something happened
it always does
moving on
doesn't take a pause
distance cooled us down
or so it appeared
raised a family
life, it gets so weird
but inside the fires still burns
after all these years

it was raining hard in Orlando...


was it at a graduation
or a funeral
saw a touch of gray
still looked beautiful

and she was alone as far as I could see
and she said my name and offered me a key
and she asked "would you spend some time with me
cuz the last thing I ever wanted was to see
you grow old lonely
without me"

she told me about her married days
how a good man sometimes changes his way
but she never put him down
and only I could see the frown
he was the second love she ever had
and in the end he was far from bad
but her eyes teared up the sweetest blue
when she said "he just never lived up to you
and now he is gone, a good memory
but the best love is still fantasy
and that is what you meant to me
now I'd like to see
our reality"

we went home and visited her kids
they had the same smile their mother did
and we fell in love all over again
in the here and now, not the way back when
and I know why they call them golden years
for life is as precious as it appears
destiny happens no matter what we do
so believe me friend, there is hope for you
just believe your heart and never turn back
take care of what you have, forget what you lack
and share your best with those you love
that's how to find all you're dreaming of

you know
like a bolt out of the blue
you know
you've seen the movie too

I was just young enough to still enjoy
raising our little girl and boy
the eyes, the precious image of
the eyes that told me how to love

my hands in yours
my hands are yours
your wish commands
please take my hands

my arms around
this dream I found
your arms around
I'm heaven bound

love love love
yeah

candora

previous - - - - - - - - next - - - - - - - - comment? - - - - - - - -

NOTE: Due to excessive comment SPAM, comments have been turned off... ironically, this month is the renewal for supergold membership and the comments feature... bad timing... you know how much I love feedback, so maybe there's be comments again one of these days... until then, please leave a note... thanks J




I love you all for coming... for reading all these words
for every click feels like more love (I know that sounds absurd)
if I could only tell you... one thing more tonight
I'd say
I wish you could come home with me and be my friends for life


ALL WORDS (C) 2015 CANDOR COMMUNICATIONS